...don�t try to figure out my experience � there�s no method to my madness...

THE INVITATION

Oriah Mountain Dreamer,

Indian Elder

It doesn�t interest me what you do for a living.

I want to know what you ache for

And if you dare to dream of meeting your heart�s longing.

It doesn�t interest me how old you are.

I want to know if you will risk looking like a fool

For love

For your dream

For the adventure of being alive.

It doesn�t interest me what planets are squaring

Your moon.

I want to know if you have touched the center

Of your own sorrow

If you have been opened by life�s betrayals

Or have become shriveled and closed

From fear of further pain.

I want to know if you can sit with pain

Mine or your own

Without moving to hide it

Or fade it

Or fix it.

I want to know if you can be with joy

Mine or your own

If you can dance with wildness and let the ecstasy fill you

To the tips of your fingers and toes

Without cautioning us

To be careful

To be realistic

To remember the limitations of being human.

It doesn�t interest me if the story you are telling me is true.

I want to know if you can disappoint another

To be true to yourself.

If you can bear the accusation of betrayal

And not betray your own soul.

If you can be faithless

And therefore trustworthy.

I want to know if you can see Beauty

Even when it is not pretty every day..

And if you can source your own life

From its presence.

I want to know if you can live with failure

Yours and mine

And still stand on the edge of the lake

And shout to the silver of the full moon,

�Yes.�

It doesn�t interest me to know where you live

Or how much money you have.

I want to know if you can get up after a night

Of grief and despair

Weary and bruised to the bone

To do what needs to be done

To feed the children.

It doesn�t interest me who you know

Or how you came to be here.

I want to know if you will stand

In the center of the fire with me

And not shrink back.

It doesn�t interest me where or what or with whom

You have studied.

I want to know what sustains you

From the inside

When all else falls away.

I want to know if you can be alone with yourself

And if you truly like the company you keep

In the empty moments.

"Update - With Pictures!" - 2006-02-07, 7:44 p.m.

2 comments so far




Okay, this is something a little more personal. I've been away for a minute -
there's been a lot of things that have been going on in my life that kind of put
me at a standstill and that I needed to focus on in order to maintain my sanity.
BUT I'm back now. I'll try to be a little more consistent - I won't make any
promises though. :) Well, since the last time that I was here so much has
changed. I'm not 5 weeks anymore - I'm almost 7 months pregnant with a baby
girl. See? :D



Yeah, I'm all big and fat - all belly and nothing else! But we
did confirm that it IS a girl. Richard and I are going to name her Akaiylyn
Elizabeth. Akaiylyn is a mixture of my grandmother's name, my middle name and my
mom's name and Elizabeth is my mother's birth mother's middle name (my mom was
adopted within our family - her birth mother and the person that I know as my
grandmother were sisters). SO I've tried to incorporate some great women in
naming my baby girl. Richard is hella excited! The other night was the first
time that he ever felt her kick. I put his hand on my stomach and said "Wait."
Finally, she moved and I looked at him and said "That's your daughter!" He had
this HUGE smile on his face as if I gave him confirmation past the ultrasounds
that she was real. It was an exciting moment. :)


Richard and I got married on November 30th. (See, I TOLD you a
lot has been going on!) It's been pretty freaking wonderful - I have FEW
complaints. :) Here's some pics of me and my husband that we took about three
weeks ago.


 


So NOW you guys can see who Richard is! :) He's at class right
now, so I'm home alone with the laptop about to start on my school assignments.
I'm taking 12 credit hours this semester - everyone thinks that I'm high for
doing this but there is a method to my madness. I'm home full time right now so
I don't have that much to do. I've still got a little bit of time before Miss
Akaiylyn gets here, so I might as well work on school so that I can finish my
degree. I think I said in some earlier entries that Richard is in the Navy. He's
on shore duty right now and will be for the next four years (THANK GOD) so I
don't have to worry about any deployments. At one point, we did get a scare that
he was going to have to leave for a school in February and would miss the birth
of the baby, but that worked itself out and now he's not being re-stationed
until August. That way, the baby will be here, I won't have to leave my doctors
and we can go together. It's a good thing! The people at his office are really
cool. They pick on me and call me the "PSD PTA Mom" because I'm always cooking
and sending stuff to his job. Because it's just the two of us, it's easy to just
push extra food off on people at his job. LOL They like it, though. At least
that's what they tell me. :)


Well, I don't know what else to write so if you've got any
specific questions or anything you guys would like to see, leave me a comment
and I'll try to accommodate it! :) Until then, I'm going to get something to
eat! :)


-Blessings

<< then << // >> now >>

In memory - 2006-09-06
Okay,... so I'm a little pissed off. - 2006-07-04
Miracles Happen - 2006-04-23
With exceedingly great joy..... - 2006-02-27
I just had to share.... - 2006-02-20

all content copyright its-a-newday 2005

Navigate
now
then
archives
profile

Extras

2 comments so far

notes
rings
Kevin
e-mail

More
about me
design
image
host
<