...don�t try to figure out my experience � there�s no method to my madness...

THE INVITATION

Oriah Mountain Dreamer,

Indian Elder

It doesn�t interest me what you do for a living.

I want to know what you ache for

And if you dare to dream of meeting your heart�s longing.

It doesn�t interest me how old you are.

I want to know if you will risk looking like a fool

For love

For your dream

For the adventure of being alive.

It doesn�t interest me what planets are squaring

Your moon.

I want to know if you have touched the center

Of your own sorrow

If you have been opened by life�s betrayals

Or have become shriveled and closed

From fear of further pain.

I want to know if you can sit with pain

Mine or your own

Without moving to hide it

Or fade it

Or fix it.

I want to know if you can be with joy

Mine or your own

If you can dance with wildness and let the ecstasy fill you

To the tips of your fingers and toes

Without cautioning us

To be careful

To be realistic

To remember the limitations of being human.

It doesn�t interest me if the story you are telling me is true.

I want to know if you can disappoint another

To be true to yourself.

If you can bear the accusation of betrayal

And not betray your own soul.

If you can be faithless

And therefore trustworthy.

I want to know if you can see Beauty

Even when it is not pretty every day..

And if you can source your own life

From its presence.

I want to know if you can live with failure

Yours and mine

And still stand on the edge of the lake

And shout to the silver of the full moon,

�Yes.�

It doesn�t interest me to know where you live

Or how much money you have.

I want to know if you can get up after a night

Of grief and despair

Weary and bruised to the bone

To do what needs to be done

To feed the children.

It doesn�t interest me who you know

Or how you came to be here.

I want to know if you will stand

In the center of the fire with me

And not shrink back.

It doesn�t interest me where or what or with whom

You have studied.

I want to know what sustains you

From the inside

When all else falls away.

I want to know if you can be alone with yourself

And if you truly like the company you keep

In the empty moments.

"New relations" - 2004-11-23, 3:04 p.m.

1 comments so far

I have this really funny attraction to guys with nice glasses. Frames that fit their face and complement the shape of their eyes makes me want to stare at them for that extra second. Designer frames, classic frames, inexpensive frames,... I don't care! As long as they look nice! It might sound stupid, but think about it. When I picked out my frames for my eyeglasses, it was quite the process. Here is an item that I would wear every day, all day for as long as they last. Something that ultimately become a permanent part of the way that I am seen by every one who encounters me. Whereas I'm not quick to spend a lot of money on neglible things like brand name clothes, if I see a pair of glasses that I think complement my face and make me look both sexy and professional in the same instant, I'm quicker to shell out the extra money. Ralph Lauren, Calvin Klein, Baby Phat,... regardless! If they look nice, then they look nice! As a woman, that's something that I pay attention to almost like a reflex. But for a man to pay that much attention to what he reflects in his appearance is sexy to me. Something small, yes. But if a man pays enough attention to the simple things like glasses, think of how much more attention he pays to the bigger things in life. An attentive man is the greatest! Attentive to himself, attentive to his affairs, attentive to his relationships.... you can't get too much better than that. =)

I recently started talking to this new guy, and I have to admit that things are going pretty well. We met at a salsa club; I hadn't really intended on going out that night, but I needed a break and I knew that I would see some of my friends there. Well, when I go to the club I never want to stop dancing. I'm not a drinker, so dancing is where I have my real fun when I'm out. I was taking a break and I saw this guy; tall, Puerto Rican, sexy as hell... beautiful eyes and NICE GLASSES! He was just standing there, singing a merengue song, but not making any attempt to dance. So I got bold! I went and asked him to dance and he came on the floor with me. We danced all night,... and into the early parts of the morning. Eventually I had to leave because there still was the responsibility of work the next morning. So, I told him goodnight and we exchanged cell phones so that we could enter contact information in each other's phones. After that was completed, I thought the night was over and that all interactions would be over until the next time we would speak (which would be the following Wednesday night after he got back from New York). But then he did it: He kissed me and I felt like my body was traveling fifteen million miles a second. I can't recall the last time I felt like that; that almost high school excitement that only someone that has lacked experiencing real passion could feel. Maybe that's why I felt it. After the moment was over, (and my clothes fought their urge to liquefy right before this guy) I told him goodnight and that I hoped to hear from him when he returned home.... and I did! The Wednesday afternoon after we met he called me. We got together that night at my apartment and have been kicking it ever since.

Quedate aqui en mis brazos
Quedate aqui para mi,
y no me digas que me amas
no me digas que me adoras
dime solo que te quedas
una vida junto a mi

llevame por alli
llevame en tus anzias a un lugar
donde ya no tenga que jurar
donde ya no tenga que mentir
donde solo exista para ti.

y no me preguntes si te quiero
que no te preocupe lo que pienso
que yo soy completamente tuya a mi manera.

pero a Cuando quiero ser tu sueno
yo no me conformo con tus besos
quiero darte todo lo que siento
y mas que eso

- Quedate Aqui - Selma Hayek

Translation
Remain here in my arms,
Remain here, for me.
And don't tell me that you love me
And don't tell me that you worship me
Only that you will remain,
A life together with me.

Take me there
Carry me in your arms to a place
Where you no longer have to swear
Where you no longer have to lie
Where you only exist for yourself.

And do not ask me if I love you
Don't worry about what I think
I am completely yours
In my way.

But when I want to be your dreams
I do not conform with your kisses
I want to give you everything that I feel
And more than that.

So here is my crossroads: My last two relationships have given me ultimate rights to complete and total bliss in any relationship I get into from this point forward. (Or at least that's what I keep telling myself) It's been a year and a half since my divorce and the guy that I dealt with in my last relationship should be court-mandated to be surgically castrated (it might sound harsh, but it's the truth - no dick should ever be used that much on someone other than your significant other). I deserve a break. I deserve the opportunity to be happy with someone who makes me feel like I'm made out of porcelain every time we touch. Who treats me with respect and is easy to relate to. Admittedly, with this guy there are a couple of things about him that are WAY out of my normal MO in regards to the guys that I date (for instance, he's WAY younger than me) but to me that's okay. I just love the way I feel when I'm around him. I love the way he smells, the way he kisses, the way we laugh at each other when we say crazy things... I love the way he listens to me when we're talking... right now he makes me so happy.

But then there's the side of me that says "Be careful." "Remember what you've already been through." "Don't get too excited." And I pay attention to that side. I haven't really told too many of my friends about him because I think it might be best to just take some time to get settled with the beginnings of our situation before I make a big announcement. I still have guards up from my past relationship(s) and I want to be sure that when I begin the process of telling the people that I love about the person who has my affection, that it's not a temporary thing. I'm so confused I don't know what to say sometimes. There are some days that I want to scream from the top of the Empire State building how happy I am, then there are other days that I want to lock up my happiness in the tightest strongbox so that no one knows how wonderful having someone in my life makes me feel. Marriage has made me totally insecure of what is really worth celebrating... and that fear has split me in half almost like Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde. But then,.. maybe that's a part of growth. Pray for me, and please leave your advice.

- Blessings

-Blessings

<< then << // >> now >>

In memory - 2006-09-06
Okay,... so I'm a little pissed off. - 2006-07-04
Miracles Happen - 2006-04-23
With exceedingly great joy..... - 2006-02-27
I just had to share.... - 2006-02-20

all content copyright its-a-newday 2005

Navigate
now
then
archives
profile

Extras

1 comments so far

notes
rings
Kevin
e-mail

More
about me
design
image
host
<