...don�t try to figure out my experience � there�s no method to my madness...

THE INVITATION

Oriah Mountain Dreamer,

Indian Elder

It doesn�t interest me what you do for a living.

I want to know what you ache for

And if you dare to dream of meeting your heart�s longing.

It doesn�t interest me how old you are.

I want to know if you will risk looking like a fool

For love

For your dream

For the adventure of being alive.

It doesn�t interest me what planets are squaring

Your moon.

I want to know if you have touched the center

Of your own sorrow

If you have been opened by life�s betrayals

Or have become shriveled and closed

From fear of further pain.

I want to know if you can sit with pain

Mine or your own

Without moving to hide it

Or fade it

Or fix it.

I want to know if you can be with joy

Mine or your own

If you can dance with wildness and let the ecstasy fill you

To the tips of your fingers and toes

Without cautioning us

To be careful

To be realistic

To remember the limitations of being human.

It doesn�t interest me if the story you are telling me is true.

I want to know if you can disappoint another

To be true to yourself.

If you can bear the accusation of betrayal

And not betray your own soul.

If you can be faithless

And therefore trustworthy.

I want to know if you can see Beauty

Even when it is not pretty every day..

And if you can source your own life

From its presence.

I want to know if you can live with failure

Yours and mine

And still stand on the edge of the lake

And shout to the silver of the full moon,

�Yes.�

It doesn�t interest me to know where you live

Or how much money you have.

I want to know if you can get up after a night

Of grief and despair

Weary and bruised to the bone

To do what needs to be done

To feed the children.

It doesn�t interest me who you know

Or how you came to be here.

I want to know if you will stand

In the center of the fire with me

And not shrink back.

It doesn�t interest me where or what or with whom

You have studied.

I want to know what sustains you

From the inside

When all else falls away.

I want to know if you can be alone with yourself

And if you truly like the company you keep

In the empty moments.

"Throwback" - 2006-02-18, 10:07 p.m.

2 comments so far

It�s very rare that I get into conversations with my ex-husband. We divorced about three years ago and have different lives now. Every now and then, we�ll see each other online and chat for a couple of minutes, kind of catching up on what�s been going on in our worlds and all of that. Today was one of those days, but the conversation was a lot longer than it normally is. We talked about a lot of things � the past, the present and the future. He knows that I�m pregnant and remarried, and that for what it�s worth, my life is exactly the way that I want it to be. But there are still so many things that we�ve never said to each other that should be said. Things that I know are unresolved in my mind that subconsciously affects me even today. (See entry entitled �Kevin� in the archives) Let me explain:

My ex-father in law and I never really got along. I know that we as people try to say that it wasn�t our faults, but I can�t think of anything that I ever did to this man that would make him not like me. I mean, I was always respectful. I always tried to show him that I always had his son�s best interests at heart � from the times where I would drive 45 minutes to come see him to when I let him take my car (now this was BEFORE we got married) so he could get back and forth to work. Well, in the conversation that Kevin and I had today, this was said:


Kevin As my dad compared you to a Jaguar... You're a throwback...
Nikia okay, I don't understand.
Kevin You're not like the other females that most guys encounter.
Kevin I know... You'll understand it eventually.
Nikia Nah, I'd rather you explain that one to me.
Nikia A throwback?
Kevin To an earlier era.
Kevin You're modern in a sense... But you have qualities that remind us of our mothers and grandmothers.... I'm sure that I'm not alone in that sentiment....

A throwback � that�s an interesting way to describe someone. I mean, I think of women like my mother and my grandmother, who are part of those generations of �throwback� women. And I don�t think of that as negative, even though in my mind that�s what I think his father was trying to imply. When I think of women from past generations, I think of strength� and empowerment� and strong family values�. and respect. I think of women who ran their households and sustained strong marriages. I think of women who could take care of their children, keep the house clean, manage the bills and still have dinner on the table by 5. I think of �throwback� women as women that hopefully one day I can try to emulate in my own demeanor � women whose same values in a way come through in my personality when it comes towards family and keeping my home safe.

Now, I�ll admit that I�m NOT a conservative woman. When I asked my husband what he thought about the comment his response was �Well, put it this way � Will this house ever be 100% patriarchal � FUCK NO!� I thought that was funny! But stories of some of our first dates came up. How I still believed in chivalry (and still do!). How surprised he was that I knew how to cook and had no problem making meals. I remember Richard telling me how one of the things he most admired about me was my independence and my determination to be able to take care of myself. I can even think to times recently where my whole focus has been to handle my pregnancy and the first moments of our child�s life traditionally and surrounded by family. Throwback � that�s SUCH an interesting way to put it!

I�ll admit that some of my thought processes are definitely �old school.� I wouldn�t use that term to describe me, though. I think that if there was a truer combination of mixing the old with the new, then I would probably be it. I want to stay married and have a marriage like my grandparents, but I want to work TOGETHER with my husband to sustain our home instead of submitting to his rules. I WANT to work outside of the home, but I also want to nurture my children and make sure they know those home-grown values that you can only get from a parent who is TRULY interested in their children, and will sacrifice working outside of the home in order for them to have that. I bask in the beauty of being an independent woman, but being a good wife and a nurturing mother is more important to me than anything on Earth. I don�t have to burn my bra on the courthouse lawn � I�ll do it while cooking dinner for my husband and my kids on my gas or electric stove. :)

So do I take being called �throwback� as an insult � no, actually I don�t. More fathers should want their sons to have �throwback� women. But, then I ask if men today had �throwback� values, we wouldn�t be having this discussion, would we?

-Blessings

<< then << // >> now >>

In memory - 2006-09-06
Okay,... so I'm a little pissed off. - 2006-07-04
Miracles Happen - 2006-04-23
With exceedingly great joy..... - 2006-02-27
I just had to share.... - 2006-02-20

all content copyright its-a-newday 2005

Navigate
now
then
archives
profile

Extras

2 comments so far

notes
rings
Kevin
e-mail

More
about me
design
image
host
<